Welcome to the City of Worcester!

Maps of Surrounding Area - Downtown Worcester

 

Worcester is the third largest city in New England, serving a population of over one million people. Major industries in the community include education (10 colleges), medical/health, burgeoning biotechnology, electronics, insurance, and diverse manufacturing. We are small enough to be personal and friendly, yet large enough to offer much to do.

We are located nearly equidistant from Boston, Newport and Providence RI, and Hartford, CT - approximately an hour from each. Our community and surrounding area offers all of the "four-season" activities you are looking for from summer beachside resorts and fall apple picking and hiking, to winter skiing and snowboarding, and spring mountain biking. Year round you will find cultural events that are truly striking for a community of our size.

For more information about the community and surrounding towns, please see our listing below or visit www.telegram.com or the Chamber of Commerce site at www.worcesterchamber.org.

For New England vacation ideas click below:

Massachusetts: www.massvacation.com
New Hampshire: www.visitnh.gov
Vermont: www.VermontVacation.com

City of Worcester

City of Worcester - www.ci.worcester.ma.us

Worcester Public Library - www.worcpublib.org

Worcester Centrum Centre - www.centrumcentre.com - one of the nation's most successful arenas and Worcester’s largest venue for concerts, family shows, trade shows, sports events, and more. The attached state-of-the-art convention center includes 11 separate meeting rooms and 2 ballroooms, is fully integrated with the arena

Art Galleries
ARTSWorcester - www.artsworcester.org - a non-profit organization that provides programs for the Greater Worcester performing, literary, and visual artist community

Winthrop Studios - www.naturegallery.com - Central New England’s leading digital fine art studio

Worcester Center for Crafts - www.worcestercraftcenter.org - a center of contemporary craft education and an institution dedicated to collectors, students, exhibitors, and shoppers

Cultural Organizations
American Antiquarian Society - www.americanantiquarian.org - a national research library of American history, literature, and culture through 1876

Worcester County Poetry Association - www.onthecommon.com/otc/wcpa - a forum for local poets, students, and others to celebrate the rich literary history of Central Massachusetts

Museums
Higgins Armory Museum - www.higgins.org - housed in a building of surprising contrasts, from its steel and glass Art Deco exterior to the vaulted Medieval Great Hall, the only museum in the Western Hemisphere entirely devoted to the study and display of arms and armor

Old Sturbridge Village - www.osv.org - 200-acre village with collections, exhibits, and programs allowing visitors to enter the everyday life of a small New England town during the years 1790 to 1840

Worcester Art Museum - www.worcesterart.org - houses more than 35,000 works of art representing more than 50 centuries of creative spirit

Worcester Historical Museum - www.worcesterhistory.org - a unique organization dedicated to collecting, preserving, and interpreting Worcester's history in all time periods and subject areas

Musical Organizations
Music Worcester - www.musicworcester.org - largest non-profit concert presenter of in central Massachusetts providing many performances by world-renowned artists

Thayer Symphony - www.thayersymphony.org - provides programs for the education, enrichment and pleasure of the citizens and musicians of the region

Theater Companies
Foothills Theatre - www.foothillstheatre.com - a full-time professional theatre company

Calliope Productions Inc - calliope@ma.ultranet.org - a community theather located in Shrewsbury

Performance Centers
Mechanics Hall - www.mechanicshall.com - a historic landmark was built in 1857 as a site for exhibitions. Today it serves as a concert hall “par excellence,” hosting a variety of concerts, wedding, meetings and other events

Tuckerman Hall - www.tuckermanhall.org - home to the Central Massachusetts Symphony Orchestra, contains two dazzling auditoriums with combined seating of 700


Area Colleges
Anna Maria College - www.annamaria.edu

Assumption College - www.assumption.edu

Becker College - www.beckercollege.edu

Clark University - www.clarku.edu

Holy Cross College - www.holycross.edu

Fitchburg State College - www.fsc.edu

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences - www.mcp.edu

Nichols College - www.nichols.edu

Quinsigamond Community College - www.qcc.mass.edu

Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine - www.tufts.edu/vet

University of Massachusetts Medical School - www.umassmed.edu

Worcester Polytechnic Institute - www.wpi.edu

Ski Areas
Ski Ward - www.skiward.com - offers seven trails, 5 lifts including a double chair and T-bar. They also have a 300 foot lighted half pipe, and Tubaslide facility.

Mt. Wachusett - www.wachusett.com - offers a scenic sky ride, seasonal festival events, and of course, skiing and snow boarding


The Great Outdoors
Ecotarium - www.ecotarium.org - an environmental science museum set on 60 scenic acres just two miles from downtown Worcester

Tower Hill Botanical Garden - www.towerhillbg.org - New England’s premier public garden containing many distinctive gardens, woodland trails, picnic areas, birdwatching areas, and more

Blackstone River Valley National Heritage State Corridor - www.nps.gov

Massachusetts Audubon Society - www.massaudubon.org - extends over 300 acres of hiking trails, picnic areas, natural animal habitat, which includes birdwatching, and more


This site is the property of the Department of Medicine at Saint Vincent Hospital in the Worcester Medical Center, 20 Worcester Center Blvd., Worcester, Massachusetts 01608. All information and photographs are the property of Saint Vincent Hospital, © 2001-2003. Site updated May 19, 2004.